Yoga and Aging

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
Robin

Yoga and Aging

Post by Robin »

I would like thoughts on yoga and aging. I am a 61 year old woman and am strong. I have an active job so I rarely sit still. I have been doing yoga for 2 1/2 years and do a combination of Iyengar and Yin. HOWEVER, I am having a hard time with the active flows when I do try them. It seems I don't have enough stamina to make it through an hour of intense yoga. Any suggestions? Should I just perservere and or are there some strengthening asanas that I should concentrate on? My goal is to be able to do the complete Dragon Dance. Any helpful suggestions?
Bernie

Building Endurance and Stamina

Post by Bernie »

Hi Robin and welcome to the Forum. While this is a Yin Yoga forum, and your question revolves around how to develop more yang stamina, it is a good question, so I will take a stab at offering some thoughts.

Like you, I too notice that I am getting older! I don’t have the abilities to do what I once did with ease, but that doesn’t mean we can’t maintain a good deal of stamina and endurance as we gracefully age. I believe there are 3 keys to growing old fit and hale: flexibility, strength and endurance. Yin Yoga certainly is my key to maintaining flexibility, but I also rely on resistance training to maintain my strength and other aerobic activities to maintain stamina.