concern regarding effects of sustained postures on ligaments

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
lauraluPT

concern regarding effects of sustained postures on ligaments

Post by lauraluPT »

Hi Bernie - Recently I have decided to get back into a fitness routine, and having done a little yoga in the past, was doing some research on yoga styles when I came across your site and yin yoga. As someone who has experienced the benefits of acupuncture and physical activity encompassing a mind-body connection (I was a gymnast), the concept of yin yoga is very appealing to me and seems to offer tremendous benefits. However, as a physical therapist I do have some concerns regarding the effect of sustained postures on ligamentous integrity. Now I have read some articles from your site as well as Paul Grilley's in connection with this topic. It makes sense that a certain level of stress is necessary to maintain the integrity of ligaments. But is there a risk of overstressing the ligaments therefore making them lax and creating instability by holding postures for such a sustained length of time? As we know ligaments are plastic in nature, and at some point once they do deform and lengthen there is no turning back. Of course there is always risk of harm with any exercise program, if the individual pushes himself too hard, doesn't listen to his body, is not given appropriate feedback/guidance from an instructor, uses improper or unsafe technqiues, doesn't respect his pain, etc. But putting all that aside, what makes this practice safe in that regard when dealing with connective tissue and ligaments? How much is too much?
Bernie

Stressing Ligaments

Post by Bernie »