How to master the squat pose?

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
YogiBalance

How to master the squat pose?

Post by YogiBalance »

Hi Bernie,
I have a goal: I want to master the squat pose. In other words, to be able to deep squat comfortably for a long duration without feeling any kind of pain and electrical feeling. Also, outside of yin practice, i want to be able to do deep squat when i do my yang body weight and stability practices.
For myself, i found out that in my current flexibility level i need to position my feet about 25cm wide from each other and that i can squat comfortably and pain free to a slightly below 90 degrees position level of my legs but i want to be able to do deep squat comfortably and pain free, or as they say "ass to grass".

Which yin poses aid the most in preparing and allowing the body to be able to deep squat?

Thanks in advance.
Bernie

How to get into Squat Pose?

Post by Bernie »

Well, maybe to start, I will ask you to read an article I wrote on this topic in Yoga International. In it, you will see there are several things can will affect how deep one can go into squat.

The real question is "what is stopping YOU?" Where do you feel resistance? In the ankles, the back of the knees, the front of the hips? What you will need to work on will depend on the answers to these questions.