Yin for Labor Preparation/Pregnancy

Check out this topic for women who are pregnant, trying to get pregnant or who just had a baby or for any other issues related to sexuality for men or women.
hparks

Yin for Labor Preparation/Pregnancy

Post by hparks »

Hello!

I am a power yoga teacher who began practicing yin to aid in conception. I am 9 months pregnant and, having practiced yoga throughout my pregnancy, feel great.

However, I am approaching the final weeks of my pregnancy and would like to hear feedback on what poses are good for loosening up the ligaments and tendons around the pelvis in preparation for delivery. At this stage, my belly is quite large and being on my back does not feel good. I'd like to know a few yin poses I could do daily to prepare my lower body (and mind!) along with how long is safe to hold them for (I know over-doing it is a concern at this point).

I focused a lot on maintaining my strength and endurance throughout this pregnancy with a lot of yang activity (biking, hiking, yang yoga), but now I am thinking it is time to really focus on opening and softening through a more yin approach. Help from Bernie or other mommas would be greatly appreciated!
HP
Bernie

Yin at 9 months?

Post by Bernie »

You are almost there! Congratulations. I have never been 9 months pregnant, nor even 1 month pregnant, so I can't personally advise you, but I can summarize some of the comments of others who have posted here and talked to me about their experiences.

1) - short holds! Max 3 minutes now.
2) - stay off your back, as you have already noted, it doesn't feel good.
3) - use lots of props: some back bends like Seal or Sphinx may be delicious and still available if you place bolsters under your thighs and arms, in effect creating a pit for your expanded belly
4) - don't try to gain more "flexibility" now than you had before.